Home » Entertainment » British Soap Awards 2016 – Winners

British Soap Awards 2016 – Winners

The British Soap Awards took place in London Saturday evening and the star studded event was aired on ITV last night. The five soap operas in the battle for a variety of awards included: Coronation Street, Doctors Eastenders, Emmerdale and Hollyoaks. It’s been a turbulent twelve months in Soap-land with triumphs, tragedies, arrivals, departures and returns. All five of the contenders have become stronger as each episode passes by and have hugely talented casts.

It was Emmerdale’s night as they took home the trophies for Best Actor (Danny Miller who plays Aaron), Miller also collected Best Male Dramatic Performance and Scene of the Year went to Val’s death. However, it was collecting the award for Best British Soap which topped off the evening of successes for the ITV soap. Actor, John Middleton who plays Ashley in the show, made a rousing acceptance speech and the cast were rightly over the moon with the accolade.

Danny Miller

Danny Miller Credit: PA

Lacey Turner’s return to Eastenders in the role of Stacey Branning predictably signalled awards for the soap, including Best Actress for the humbled star.  Actor, Steve McFadden’s Outstanding Achievement award was also notable after many years of playing the tragic villain, Phil Mitchell. Bonnie Langford’s win for Best Newcomer was a nod towards her acceptance into the land of soap having spent so many years in musical theatre.


Bonnie Langford Credit: PA

Coronation Street was also not without its share of prizes, Patti Clare who plays Mary, a popular comedy character won Best Comedy Performance for the third time. Connor McIntyre who plays Pat Phelan took Villain of the Year, rightly so, he’s a character that I find particularly sinister so a well deserved award, there.

Hollyoaks and Doctors collected one trophy a piece, unsurprising in what is normally a three horse race, however both soaps have had some excellent storylines and I hope to see them receive more recognition next year.

Full list of winners at the British Soap Awards 2016:

Best British Soap

  • Coronation Street
  • Doctors
  • EastEnders
  • Emmerdale – WINNER
  • Hollyoaks


Best Actor

  • Coronation Street: Jack P Shepherd (David Platt)
  • Hollyoaks: Charlie Clapham (Freddie Roscoe)
  • EastEnders: Danny Dyer (Mick Carter)
  • Emmerdale: Danny Miller (Aaron Livesy) – WINNER
  • Hollyoaks: Kieron Richardson (Ste Hay)


Best Actress

  • Coronation Street: Alison King (Carla Connor)
  • EastEnders: Lacey Turner (Stacey Branning) – WINNER
  • EastEnders: Rakhee Thakrar (Shabnam Masood)
  • Emmerdale: Lucy Pargeter (Chas Dingle)
  • Hollyoaks: Jennifer Metcalfe (Mercedes McQueen)


Villain of the Year

  • Coronation Street: Connor McIntyre (Pat Phelan) – WINNER
  • Doctors: Adam Astill (Anthony Harker)
  • EastEnders: Ellen Thomas (Claudette Hubbard)
  • Emmerdale: Ryan Hawley (Robert Sugden)
  • Hollyoaks: Sophie Austin (Lindsey Roscoe)


Best Comedy Performance

  • Coronation Street: Patti Clare (Mary Taylor) – WINNER
  • Doctors: Sarah Moyle (Valerie Pitman)
  • EastEnders: Tameka Empson (Kim Fox-Hubbard)
  • Emmerdale: Matthew Wolfenden (David Metcalfe)
  • Hollyoaks: Ross Adams (Scott Drinkwell)


Best Newcomer

  • Coronation Street: Shayne Ward (Aidan Connor)
  • Doctors: Bharti Patel (Ruhma Hanif)
  • EastEnders: Bonnie Langford (Carmel Kazemi) – WINNER
  • Emmerdale: Isobel Steele (Liv Flaherty)
  • Hollyoaks: Duayne Boachie (Zack Loveday)


Best Storyline

  • Coronation Street: Callum’s Reign of Terror and Sarah’s Baby
  • Doctors: Treehouse
  • EastEnders: Stacey’s Postpartum Psychosis – WINNER
  • Emmerdale: Aaron’s Abuse
  • Hollyoaks: The McQueen’s Cycle of Abuse


Best Single Episode

  • Coronation Street: Live Episode
  • Doctors: The Heart of England – WINNER
  • EastEnders: Shabnam’s stillbirth
  • Emmerdale: Aftermath of Village Hall explosion
  • Hollyoaks: Patrick Blake’s right to die decision


Best Male Dramatic Performance

  • Coronation Street: Jack P Shepherd (David Platt)
  • Doctors: Adrian Lewis Morgan (Dr Jimmi Clay)
  • EastEnders: Steve McFadden (Phil Mitchell)
  • Emmerdale: Danny Miller (Aaron Livesy) – WINNER
  • Hollyoaks: Jeremy Sheffield (Patrick Blake)


Best Female Dramatic Performance

  • Coronation Street: Tina O’Brien (Sarah Platt)
  • Doctors: Sarah Moyle (Valerie Pitman)
  • EastEnders: Lacey Turner (Stacey Branning) – WINNER
  • Emmerdale: Charlotte Bellamy (Laurel Thomas)
  • Hollyoaks: Zoe Lucker (Reenie McQueen)


Best On-Screen Partnership

  • Coronation Street: Sally Dynevor and Joe Duttine (Sally Webster and Tim Metcalfe) – WINNER
  • Doctors: Dido Miles and Ian Kelsey (Dr Emma Reid and Dr Howard Bellamy)
  • EastEnders: Danny Dyer and Kellie Bright (Mick and Linda Carter)
  • Emmerdale: Danny Miller and Ryan Hawley (Aaron Livesy and Robert Sugden)
  • Hollyoaks: Ashley Taylor Dawson and Jessica Fox (Darren and Nancy Osborne)


Best Young Performance

  • Coronation Street: Elle Mulvaney (Amy Barlow)
  • EastEnders: Grace (Janet Mitchell)
  • Emmerdale: Amelia Flanagan (April Windsor)
  • Hollyoaks: Ruby O’Donnell (Peri Lomax) – WINNER


Scene of the Year

  • Coronation Street: Callum’s death
  • Doctors: Valerie leaves Barry at the altar
  • EastEnders: Mick and Linda finally get married
  • Emmerdale: Val’s death – WINNER
  • Hollyoaks: Nico kills Patrick


Outstanding Achievement Award (On-Screen)

  • Steve McFadden: EastEnders


The Tony Warren Award (Off-Screen)

  • James Bain: formerly Coronation Street and Emmerdale

Featured Image Credit: British Soap Awards

Share this article

share we chat more

About Helen McWilliams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Skip to toolbar