Home » Entertainment » BAFTA Television Award Winners
Feature photo credit: BAFTA

BAFTA Television Award Winners

The BAFTA Television awards ceremony took place in London last night and stars of the small screen made their appearance on the red carpet for an evening of evening of celebration and also remembrance.

There were a few surprise winners and a number of obvious choices among the nominated performers and programmes. Graham Norton hosted the evening and he was flanked by a variety of award presenters including Justin Timberlake, Anna Kendrick, Idris Elba and James Norton.

Wolf Hall took the Drama series award and seemed to be a popular choice with the audience, while Strictly Come Dancing took their very first BAFTA for Entertainment Programme, the award was collected by an over-awed Tess Daly and Claudia Winkleman, Winkleman quipped that they would need to party for 5 days to get over it!

peter kay

Photo credit: BBC

Unsurprisingly, Peter Kay picked up Male Performance in a Comedy and Peter Kay’s Car Share won Scripted Comedy. Kay’s collection of the first trophy involved the comedian saying nothing(!), as he stood before the audience seemingly unable to string a speech together! When the team collected the award for Scripted Comedy he did manage to speak, but not before standing as far across the stage from the microphone as he could manage. An entertaining part of the show, that’s for sure.

There were so many excellent programmes in the Radio Times Audience Award, but Poldark scooped the prize, no doubt partly due to the leading man! The hotly contested Soap and Continuing Drama category was always going to be an interesting decision, and this time it was Eastenders who reigned supreme. Original cast member Adam Woodyatt (Ian Beale) collected the award with Laurie Brett who plays Jane Beale beside him. Eastenders received excellent reviews for their live episodes and the long running Who Killed Lucy Beale? storyline.

Leading Actress was also a tightly run race with new mum, Suranne Jones taking home the trphy for her role in Doctor Foster. Wolf Hall scooped a double with Mark Rylance taking the Leading Actor award, it’s been a good year for Rylance as he has received critical acclaim both on screen and on the stage.

Sir Lenny Henry was honoured in the Special Recognition and its been a long time coming. The Dudley born comedian is as well known for his tireless fundraising as he is for acting and performing, not forgetting those Premier Inn adverts of course! It was a fitting finale to the evening that such a deserving gentleman received this prestigious award.







Share this article

share we chat more

About Helen McWilliams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Skip to toolbar