Home » News » Asia » Aung Sang Suu Kyi wins Majority of seats in Myanmar’s Lower.

Aung Sang Suu Kyi wins Majority of seats in Myanmar’s Lower.

Current President of Myanmar Thein Sein, continues to show support of opposition leader Aung Sang Suu Kyi as her party continue to grow in popularity ahead of elections in Myanmar.

Thein Sein said that the government would accept the results of the polls and promised “a peaceful transfer of power’ if she wins the upcoming elections. However under Myanmar’s constitution, Suu Kyiu cannot legally become President due to being married to a British citizen, a condition that may soon be amended.

Aung San Suu Kyi has previously spent her life under house arrest, from previous ruler’s fear of her public popularity and a large following for her party the National League for Democracy and has previously won a Nobel Peace Prize for her courage and lifetime of political involvement.


Statements made on Facebook today suggested the support from political figureheads in Myanmar, with the Presidential spokesperson congratulating “Aung San Suu Kyi and her party for gathering the support of the people.’  General Min Aung Hlaing, the head of a military that has previously lead the country for 50 years congratulated Suu Kyi’s for winning a “majority of seats”.

Aung Sang Suu Kyi also showed the importance of creating unity throughout Myanmar, with the aim of meeting with President Thein Sein, General Min Aung Hlaing, and the Speaker of the Houses of Parliament, Shwe Mann, to discuss the elections and the peaceful transition into a new age for the country. In letters addressed to the men she suggested the importance of ‘implementing the people’s will in a peaceful manner for the sake of the country.’

Thein Sein said he has agreed to Suu Kyi’s request to hold reconciliation, but are yet to decide a date and location for these talks.

According to the latest results, Suu Kyi’s National league for Democracy, has won 179 seats out of 216 in the lower house of parliament. However final results of the election will be given on the 22nd November 2015.


Share this article

share we chat more

About Megan Hunn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Skip to toolbar